Skip to content
November 12, 2010 / hascott

Novelty, Inspiration and Studio Practice

You’ll have to excuse the long silence on this blog. I have not fallen off the face of the earth, I swear. Perhaps just ventured to another portion of it. I realized today that it has been just about 2 years since I finished my studies at SCAD and completed my MFA. Its hard to believe that it has been that long and in many ways seems like another lifetime.  They warned me, but keeping a regular studio practice after leaving school has been one of the hardest things I have ever struggled with. The need to survive and pay crippling bills seems to get in the way of unadulterated studio time;)

I find myself with the challenge of being in a different category or artist. From simple student to 9-5er, entrepreneur and studio at home dweller. After a stint of artist block after school I did start making work again, and I will be sharing some of these pieces shortly. For a change of pace on these pages I am going to start sharing fun things that remind me of the work I feel so inspired to make, artists that I am interested in and would love to learn from, as well as real world elements that evoke such thought.

Starting today with globes:

For some time now I have been fixated on school room geography and the globe form as a ground for imagined worlds. I follow a lot of design blogs and globes seem to be a trend there as well. Here are some fun ones that showed up on Design Sponge today.

These dandies are from artist Wendy Gold and her site Imaginenations.

In case you were wondering, here is a video she provided on how globes are made.

Another work along the lines of what I like to do is this map of the world as Berlin, from one of my favorite blogs Strange Maps.

left

Leave a Reply

