Skip to content
January 19, 2010 / hascott

Art on the West Coast

I realize I have left this blog unattended to for over a year now. And for that, I apologize.Let me catch you up on a year of happenings in this artists life.

In 2009 I packed up my graduate school life in Savannah, GA and moved west. I drove cross-country yet again, back to California, and home. Having spent the almost 3 years secluded in my studio on the lovely Georgia coast, I had a lot of catching up to do to understand and find my way in the LA art scene and figure out how to survive life post-education.

In 2009 I finished my MFA thesis paper (a beast of a document), battled unemployment inanity in the worst possible economy and planned a wedding. I thought a lot about what in means to be an artist and where all of those creative energies go.

In 2009 I worked 3 different jobs, got married, moved to the East side, set up a new studio at a new home and pulled myself out of an artist block.

I am happy to report that 2010 is going to be a good year. I am now comfortably settled in a job I enjoy, although totally unrelated to art. I have a much clearer handle on the gallery scene in LA and go to openings regularly. Our contacts are building and my husband, also an artist, was recently picked up by a great Culver City gallery. A new studio practice is evolving from the need to balance said job with life as an artist.

In light of the new year, I started an art review blog to document all of our gallery going. It is a friendly analysis and report of the work I see developing in and around LA as well as an events calendar reminder for those also wanting to follow. Visit www.greaterlaartreview.blogspot.com to see more.

My thesis work in Savannah ended in the middle of what I was called the “50 States Project”, which I am slowly continuing. I hope to post images of new work soon. New efforts and ideas are based around globes, interpretations of world maps and somewhere back there I am thinking a lot about islands and continents.

Leave a Reply

