Skip to content
May 1, 2008 / hascott

Fun with etching, sewing and cutting… updates

I have been working hard. Im sorry that its been a while since the last post.. Right now I am revisiting printmaking, which has been a load of work but fun, and getting things together for the big review in 2 weeks. New stuff, enjoy!

My first stab back at printmaking…


Stage one of my copper plates…etching remnants of the journey series.


For midterm I printed the first two panels of the journey series and presented them on sheets together.

I also took two of the squares from the vinyl drawings and had them enlarged then printed those 20″x20″.

I would really like to cute out each of the squares, mount, and display them like this:

I have machine sewn the path of travel with red thread through each of them. They are floating about an inch off the wall, on a wood block. Everyone else wanted them all together so I mocked some up to get the idea. The verdict is still out…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. akeck / May 8 2008 12:41 pm

    Hilary, these look great! I love the small square ones hanging outside of your studio, and I can’t wait to see them all in person. Good luck with your review this week!

  2. mom / May 10 2008 8:38 pm

    I love your blue cyano squares. If someone does not love them and their blueness, they have no heart. Hang in there…you’ll make it through your review.

Leave a Reply

