Skip to content
April 13, 2008 / hascott

New and Blue

The Journey series is a project with a beginning and an end. It is a memory of a migration, an uprooting and adventure from coast to coast. When I moved to Georgia I drove my car, with all my possessions within 3000 miles from California. These are the trips you never forget. I have reproduced the map tracing point A home (Thousand Oaks, CA) to point B new home (Savannah, GA). This journey has been separated into 4 ½ in. squares each representing 15 minutes of driving. I am revisiting the journey in real time by allowing myself 15 to draw each square map onto a grid of vinyl. The purpose is to eventually expose this negative in the cyanotype process and present the move in a linear way… I hope you enjoy seeing the project in progress.

I have half of the squares drawn out and just sun printed them yesterday…. excited for installation when they are all done!

details:

Leave a Reply

