Skip to content
October 14, 2007 / hascott

working with the sun

I made it through midterms alive. Painting is going well. I have 4 of the 6 white hwy pieces done (pictures to follow as soon as I track down my camera).

img_4092.jpg img_4095.jpg

I have also been doing more drawings and transfering them into cyanotype prints. Its a little tricky because I only have a few hours of great full sunlight a day and when its been raining that doesn’t do me any good either. They are looking cool though.

2handblue.jpg

I think I might continue to explore this medium but try to branch out by changing the size or ground and adding watercolor or other elements with them. Vary the scale as well of course.
img_4091.jpg

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sara / Oct 15 2007 12:32 pm

    Is there a way to coat glass or plexi with the cyanotype emulsion? These images would be amazing with translucency.

  2. hascott / Oct 15 2007 3:15 pm

    Im not sure. The emulsion has to grip to something and soak in a little for it to work.
    Right now I am playing with Sumi rice paper which is a little more translucent but durable. After its all done I can use that with matte medium in collage layers that would be somewhat translucent from getting wet…

    Ooo, I also just ordered Van Dyke photo solution which has a similar process to cyanotype but its brown…very excited.

  3. shu / Oct 17 2007 12:27 pm

    hey i really like your new stuff. i think that you are making a huge step. i want one

  4. akeck / Oct 19 2007 9:36 am

    I can’t wait to see other colors besides blue. Cyanotype has such a blue stereotype that immediately tags it. (though I love the blue too!) I think they will be so much more interesting when people look at them and think, “How in the world did she do that?” I love the textures and the imagery.

Leave a Reply

